Modern opera and the ignorance thereof

I was just now reading The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat, and in googling it, I found that there is in fact an opera.  I love finding out that someone has written an opera – not a dead old Italian or German thing, but a real breathing modern piece – on something that fascinates me.

The last time I found this out, it was concerning the life story of Donald Crowhurst.  I have a terrible little obsession with Donald Crowhurst, with what makes someone become him.  The opera is Ravenshead.  I’ve done a lot of work to this soundtrack.

There is of course an Amarna Period modern opera, Akhnaten by Philip Glass.  I have to admit it bored many a pant off of me when I heard it, and I subsequently lost my CDs, but I was much younger then.  I must give it another chance, and review it properly.